Questions about God

question marksHaving reached the mature age of 4, my niece has gained a new level of inquisitiveness. “Why?” and “What?” have become her two favorite questions in conversation. While she has supplied me with many laughs, what continually amazes me is the intellectual depth her little mind is capable of producing. In the past few weeks she has asked the following questions:

“Why doesn’t God feed all the children?”

“Does Jesus ever get tired?”

“Why can’t I see Jesus?”

“If God is Jesus’ Daddy, then how is Jesus God?” (my paraphrase)

“What does God look like?”

I marvel at her insight and am often stumped at how to answer her. How do you explain the problem of evil, the nature of the Trinity, or where Jesus is to a child? How do you explain it to an adult, for that matter?! For in reality, the questions we ask at 4 are the same questions we ask at 34. We just spruce them up with more “adult-like” language:

“Why would a good God allow suffering?”

“How can you believe there is 1 God in 3 persons?”

“Is there proof God exists?”

No matter our age and religious beliefs, we seem hardwired to ask questions about God. Even renowned Atheist Richard Dawkins has devoted his time and attention to answering questions about the Deity he discredits. In fact, throughout history humanity has asked questions and sought answers about God, His existence and character.

Having learned a lesson from my niece, this causes me to ask, “Why?” Why are we constantly asking questions about who, what, or if God exists? Could it be that we’re hardwired to ask questions about God’s existence and character because He does exist? What if our questions themselves are part of the answer, a tangible evidence of God inviting us to discover the answers we seek?

The writer of Ecclesiastes tells us that God “has put eternity into man’s heart.”[1] And Paul informs us in his letter to the Romans,

 “For his invisible attributes, namely, his eternal power and divine nature, having been clearly perceived, ever since the creation of the world, in the things that have been made.”[2]

If the God the Bible describes exists and wants us to know Him, it stands to reason He would build in us that desire, causing us to ask questions about who He is and what He is like. This is exactly what we see, both on the pages of history and the pages of our own stories. Maybe the questions my niece is asking aren’t so surprising after all. Maybe they’re simply the fingerprints of the God who created her for Himself. Maybe her questions, and ours, about God find their answers in God.

You are Yourself the answer. Before Your face questions die away. What other answer would suffice?[3]


[1] Ecclesiastes 3:11

[2] Romans 1:20

[3] C.S. Lewis, Till we Have Faces

*Cross-posted at the Christian Apologetics Alliance

6 thoughts on “Questions about God

  1. I think far more Christians need to ask themselves more of the same questions, children can be a great way of getting people interested in apologetics or instilling them with the false definition of faith…I.E. just have faith etc.

    • I agree! I sometimes wonder if Christians can fall into the trap of thinking asking questions means a lack of faith rather than a desire to grow in faith. For that matter, what is faith? No matter our age, we need to grow in understanding of what we believe and why.

  2. Yes. And this is why I always say I have a ‘child-like’ faith; because I’m always asking questions!
    I have long suspected that our reason for being is to reflect back the image of God which was placed on us. I think it was St Augustine who said something like ‘Lord you have made us for yourself and our hearts are restless until they rest in you’. I definitely believe that.

    I just came to your blog today… I’m glad I did. Keep it up!

    • Thanks for the comment! I love this quote by St. Augustine. And I like how you associate child-like faith with asking questions. We tend to view child-like faith as infantile and misguided, but I think that’s missing the point. Child-like faith asks questions because it believes there’s an answer and that the one you’re asking your questions to will tell you the truth. It’s trusting, not naive.

      • Exactly. I think it was Dawkins who defined faith as ‘belief without evidence’. Well, I can’t accept that definition. As we keep on asking the questions, we find that our faith is never broken. It’s like the scriptures say:
        “And when you search for me with all your heart” declares the Lord “you will find me”. “I will let you find me” Jeremiah 29:13-14
        This notion of God ‘letting’ us find him is such a powerful one. It speaks of an attitude of the heart; something that many atheists in their arrogance will never understand, sadly.

      • Dawkins’ definition of faith falls into the thought many have, even Christians, that faith is blind acceptance of something with no possible evidence. Yet, true faith is the substance of things hoped for and the evidence of things not seen (Heb. 11:1). There is a ton of evidence God exists. The question is, what will we do with it?
        I agree with you the attitude of our heart is a key issue. I also think that Atheists being arrogant and not understanding this is not an “atheist” problem, but the problem of every single individual on the planet, whether we believe in God or not. This past year in particular God has shown me how arrogant and ignorant I’ve been in my understanding of who He is and my relationship with Him, and I’ve been a Christian the majority of my life!

Thoughts or comments? I'd love to hear them!

